Lake Wylie’s Thursday Night Tournament Trail makes big finish

September 14, 2012 

— The Thursday Night Tournament Trail Championship was held Sept. 7-8 on Lake Wylie.

“We got it all started with a hot dog supper sponsored by Lake Wylie Bait & Tackle on Thursday evening with the pre-registration,” said Erwin Gaston, who co-organizes the event with Jeremy Cabe.

There were 44 boats qualified for the no entry fee event. Matt Queen and Adam Fillmore came away a champions and $3,000 bringing in a consistent bag both nights for a total two-day weight of 25.71 pounds.

“This has been a tough fishing year, but it has been fun fishing,” Gaston said.

Gaston and Cabe captured second place with a two-day total of 25.55 pounds and $1,200 and a big fish on day two of 4.73 pounds.

Hunter Hicks and David Mitchell hit third-place with 25.23 pounds for $950, while fourth place finishers Ed Parker and George Baucom brought in the first big fish at 4.62 pounds and $900 in winnings.

The top 10 spots paid out.

The Thursday Night Tournament Trail will start back up March 29, a Friday, with the Fishing For A Cure charity tournament.

For information about the trail, and the past and present results, visit Sponsors of TNTT are Dicks Sporting Goods, A-1 Adams Bail Bond Agency, AAA Plumbing, Lake Wylie Bait & Tackle, Shakey Head.Com, Jak’s Custom Baits, Koyote Fishing Tackle, Tru South Lures and The Great Outdoors.

TNTT Championship results: Sept. 7-8

1. Matt Queen/Adam Fillmore, 25.71 lbs.

2. Erwin Gaston/Jeremy Cabe, 25.55

3. Hunter Hicks/David Mitchell, 25.23

4. Ed Parker/George Baucom, 24.44

5. Mike Stevens, 23.98

6. Ron Farrow/Mike Allman, 23.87

7. Gray Bennett, 23.84

8. John Eisenhour/Nathan Williams, 23.12

9. Conrad Pogarzelski/Billy Wolf, 21.87

10. Steve Addington/Bucky Helms, 21.31

11. Jay Adams/Glenn Sparrow, 21.23

12. Mike Buschue/Robin Cairco, 20.47

13. Mark Humphreys/Josh Warren, 20.46

14. David Winters/Brain Huskins, 19.07

15. Brian Setzer/Robby Smith, 18.67

16. Brandon Chandler/Shawn Wallace, 18.57

17. Greg Williams/Brian Williams, 17.89

18. Derek Lilly/Mike Stone, 16.65

19. Josh Featherstone/Bobby Spivey, 16.42

20. Phillip Burke/Bobby Rice, 15.64

21. Todd Sosbee/Isaac Sosbee, 15.59

22. Steve Hilderbran/Donny Cooper, 15.54

23. Tim Sabella/Eric Brink, 14.75

24. Gordan Smith/Jarrod Kimak, 14.11

25. Rob Johnson/Matt Johnson, 12.09

26. Mike Perry, 11.28

27. Derek Nicely/Troy Jackson, 10.09

28. Gene Sparks/Ted Mobley, 8.57

29. Josh Garner/Scott Willis, 6.41

30. Andy Beechly/Pat McNulty, 5.46

31. Chad Schroeder/Austin Schroeder, 4.56

32. Mark Leech/Anthony Leech, 3.74

33. Jason Amato/Dave Spivey, 3.49

34. Ken Moore/Allen Shadd, 1.48

Big fish Sept. 7: Ed Parker/George Baucom, 4.62

Big fish Sept. 8: Erwin Gaston/Jeremy Cabe, 4.73

The Lake Wylie Pilot is pleased to provide this opportunity to share information, experiences and observations about what's in the news. Some of the comments may be reprinted elsewhere in the site or in the newspaper. We encourage lively, open debate on the issues of the day, and ask that you refrain from profanity, hate speech, personal comments and remarks that are off point. Thank you for taking the time to offer your thoughts.

Commenting FAQs | Terms of Service