Keepers of Culture honored Nov. 13 at McCelvey

November 5, 2012 

— Songwriter and multi-instrumentalist Darrell Scott will appear at the 2012 Keepers of the Culture awards presentation at 7 p.m. Tuesday, Nov. 13 at the Lowry Family Theater of McCelvey Center, 212 E. Jefferson St. in York.

Scott has collaborated with renowned artist Sam Bush, Emmylou Harris, Jimmie Dale Gilmore, Tim O’Brien, Lucinda Williams, Joan Baez and others. He has written hit songs for Nashville’s top artists – Garth Brooks, Tim McGraw, Faith Hill and Brad Paisley. In 2003, he was nominated for a Grammy Award for Best Country Song in 2003 for “Long Time Gone” performed by the Dixie Chicks.

Scott’s appearance kicks off the 2012-13 McCelvey Center Southern Sound Series and is part of the Culture & Heritage Museums’ Keepers of the Culture Awards Ceremony honoring individuals who have shown a commitment to preserving, communicating, and connecting our cultural, natural, and historical heritage in the community.

Since 1999, the CHM has celebrated citizens whose achievements have helped to preserve cultural heritage in our region.

The 2012 Keepers of the Culture are Allan M. Miller, Pat Veasey and Joe Zdenek.

Admission is $14 for CHM members, $17 non-members. For ticket information, call 803.329.2121, ext 126.

• Allan Miller, an early FM country music disc-jockey, made South Carolina radio history in 1968 when he programmed the state’s first fulltime FM country music station.

He also became a significant songwriter with charted singles and movie soundtrack credits. Miller has served as emcee or auctioneer at hundreds of charity events/activities.

His four decades of volunteer work include service as president and chairman of organizations including the South Carolina Broadcasters Association, the Come-See-Me Board and Festival, the York County Culture and Heritage Commission, and the American Cancer Society.

Miller is the current chairman of the South Carolina Broadcaster’s Foundation Scholarship Committee, president of the Board of Governors for Rock Hill’s ChristmasVille festival and chair of the Culture & Heritage Museums’ Vernon Grant Advisory Committee.

He is a South Carolina Broadcaster’s Hall of Fame inductee and in 2011 was recognized with the 2011 Rock Hill Chamber of Commerce Businessman of the Year Award.

• Pat Veasey is a consummate educator. For more than 35 years, Veasey has encouraged learners of all ages to experience history and explore it hands-on. For 12 years, Veasey worked as director of education and programs at Historic Brattonsville.

Following her retirement in 2002, she continued her research and scholarship and shares her passion for history and education with others through articles, papers, workshops and symposia. She also serves as guest curator for various exhibitions for the Culture & Heritage Museums.

• Joe Zdenek, a former Winthrop University Spanish professor and chairman of the Modern & Classical Language Department, serves as a community volunteer in many capacities.

Since retiring from Winthrop in 1992, he has been involved in countless organizations, including the Sierra Club, the Museum of York County, York County Literacy Association, Kiwanis Club and Pilgrims’ Inn.

An avid watercolorist, Zdenek has committed himself to using his talents to the benefit of others through contributions of art to raise funds for organizations such as The Yorkville Artist Guild, Arts Council of York County, SCETV and others.

From staff reports

The Lake Wylie Pilot is pleased to provide this opportunity to share information, experiences and observations about what's in the news. Some of the comments may be reprinted elsewhere in the site or in the newspaper. We encourage lively, open debate on the issues of the day, and ask that you refrain from profanity, hate speech, personal comments and remarks that are off point. Thank you for taking the time to offer your thoughts.

Commenting FAQs | Terms of Service