Clover High cadets inducted into ROTC society

June 2, 2013 

Three Clover High School students – Jackson and Samuel Gordon, and Cheyanne Howell – were recently inducted into the Kitty Hawk Air Society by the Air Force ROTC unit.

These cadets fulfilled all pledge requirements and were accepted into this JROTC version of the National Honor Society. Clover’s Kitty Hawk Air Society is led by junior Madeleine Burrell. Their mission is to recognize academic and military achievement by cadets, provide additional leadership and educational opportunities, promote community service and encourage overall excellence. Instructors are Maj. Brian Batson and Chief Louis Csencsits.

OMS awards success

Oakridge Middle School students earned the following academic awards:

•  Sixth: Gabriella Giers, regular English language arts; Abby Renner, Gifted and Talented ELA; Abby Renner, GT math; Brandon Thomas, regular math; Abby Renner, social studies; Emily Rosanova, science.

•  Seventh: Georgia Welborn, regular ELA; Heidi Sanders, advanced ELA; Gabriel Patrautanu, GT ELA; Tahjra Cassie, reg math; Kali Knowlton, advanced pre-algebra; Ashley Atkinson, GT pre-algebra; Katie Elder, social studies; Andrew White, science.

•  Eighth: Ashanti Carothers, ENG I; Madisyn Selby, honors ENG I; Grace Miller, GT ENG I; Salem Eaton, pre-algebra; Jesse DeFalco, advanced algebra; Catherine Grace Miller, GT Algebra I; Angie Pantousco, social studies; Grace Miller, science; Delaina Satterfield, Spanish.

Charter school session June 11

The Public Charter School Alliance of South Carolina is holding an information session from 6 to 8 p.m. June 11 at Hilton Garden inn, 650 Tinsley Way.

Charter schools are public schools that are allowed the freedom to be more innovative while being held accountable for improving student achievement. This coming school year there will be nearly 20,000 public school students across the state in 55 public charter schools.

For more information, visit

Gardner-Webb releases honor lists

Gardner-Webb University recently released its dean’s list and honor roll.

Students from Clover on the honor roll are Alexandria Black and Marian Marr.

Students from Clover on the dean’s list are Amy Cassano and Emily Owens.

Scholarship applications

due June 14

York County Farm Bureau offers a scholarship to a student pursuing a higher education in agriculture or in an agriculturally-related field.

Applicants must have completed a first semester at a four-year school of higher education. The amount of the scholarship awarded will be $1,000 annually.

This scholarship will be awarded to a resident of York County based on character, demonstrated leadership abilities, and dedication to agriculture or a related field.

Applications are due June 14. Call 803-684-4235 for info.

The Lake Wylie Pilot is pleased to provide this opportunity to share information, experiences and observations about what's in the news. Some of the comments may be reprinted elsewhere in the site or in the newspaper. We encourage lively, open debate on the issues of the day, and ask that you refrain from profanity, hate speech, personal comments and remarks that are off point. Thank you for taking the time to offer your thoughts.

Commenting FAQs | Terms of Service