Clover schools honor support staff at each school

June 10, 2013 

The Clover School District Teacher Forum, comprised of each school’s teacher of the year, is for the third consecutive year recognizing support employees at each school.

The forum is honoring one employee at each of the district’s 10 schools with the title of support staff person of the year. The honorees, who were selected by the faculty and staff of each school, were announced last week at a luncheon.

The winners are:

• Mary Mitchell, custodian, Blue Eagle Academy

Michelle Lee, teacher assistant for academic assistance, Bethel Elementary

• Rebecca Hart, kindergarten assistant, Bethany Elementary

• Kim Lightsey, technology teacher assistant, Clover High

• Lynne Krashner, attendance secretary, Clover Middle

• Christie Pressley, head custodian, Crowders Creek Elementary

• Brenda Glenn, receptions, Griggs Road Elementary

• Tracey Thompson, technology instructor, Kinard Elementary

• Becky Sellers, bookkeeper, Larne Elementary

• Jane McCall, bookkeeper, Oakridge Middle.

Clover schools honor 21 retirees

The Clover School District last week honored 21 retirees who have a combined 352 years of service in the district.

Retirees, honored during a banquet at the City Club in Rock Hill, are listed here with years of service shown in parentheses.

Mattie Alexander (9), Larne; Brenda Briand (13), Clover High; Connie Carnes (6), Clover Middle; Linda Dover (25), Griggs Road; Lisa Gadsden (29), Larne; Carla Clarke (27), Clover Middle; Brenda Gess (25), Bethel; Meredith Gibson (9), Kinard; Cheryl Gill (7), Crowders Creek; Rachel Gray (28), Clover High; Susan Grose (5), Clover Middle; Alice Hanks (17), Clover High; Glenda Lindsay (20), Clover High; Della Love (25), Kinard; Cathy Lowman (33), Kinard; Janet Nelson (12), Griggs Road; Nancy Parham (27), District Office; Patricia Ratchford (7), Oakridge Middle; Gary Short (7), Clover Middle; Diane Senn (14), Crowders Creek; and Jane Tucker (7), Crowders Creek.

Seven students graduate from PES

Palisades Episcopal School hosted a visit from the Right Rev. Michael B. Curry, bishop of the Episcopal Diocese of North Carolina, as he officiated the school’s eighth-grade graduation ceremony May 30.

Seven students graduated from PES, including Allison Bowman, Mary Kate Bowman, Grayson Gerber, Giovanni Mesiemore, Mary Moulliet, valedictorian Emma Myrick and salutatorian Grant Stadler.

OMS honors two staff members

Oakridge Middle School in Lake Wylie honored the following staff for May and June:

• Magaly Thalacker was named Staff Member of the Month for June.

• Stacey Rhinehart was named the May Staff Person of the Month.

Clover High student earns scholarship

Alex Sisk, a senior at Clover High School, has been awarded 2013 Yamaha/Dennis DeLucia Scholarship.

The $1,000 award, named for percussion teacher, arranger, clinician and judge Dennis DeLucia, is awarded each year at the Winter Guard International (WGI) Indoor Percussion World Championship Finals to a deserving percussionist. Yamaha donates the scholarship.

Sisk plans to study music education at Winthrop University and then transfer to the University of South Carolina. For the past three years, Sisk marched with cymbals for the Clover Indoor Percussion Group and this past season he served as the cymbal captain. He began playing in band in the sixth grade and also plays the alto saxophone in the top band at Clover High.

“I am very honored and thankful for this opportunity that WGI and Yamaha gave to me,” said Sisk. “Everything that I thought I had accomplished on my own could never of been achieved without those who work behind the scenes to make things happen. I have a passion for music that burns very deep and look forward to pursing my musical studies and furthering my education.”

The WGI Indoor Percussion World Championships is the culminating event of the season for indoor percussion, with 210 percussion ensembles traveling to Dayton for the 2013 Championship finals. This year marks the eighth presentation of the award at WGI.

Hold blood drive, earn scholarship money

The Community Blood Center of the Carolinas is calling all area high school and college students to participate in its fifth annual “Students Saving Summer Scholarship” program.

High school and college students who organize and host a successful blood drive with CBCC through Sept. 30 have the chance to earn scholarship money for their secondary education. The students with the top five producing blood drives will each receive a $1,000 scholarship from CBCC.

To be eligible, students must choose a location, recruit donors and collect a minimum of 25 units of blood.

For more information or to register, call 704-972-4727.

Farm Bureau offers scholarship

York County Farm Bureau offers a scholarship to a student pursuing a higher education in agriculture or an agriculturally-related field.

Applicants must have completed a first semester at a four-year school of higher education. The amount of the scholarship awarded will be $1,000 annually, to be awarded $500 each semester.

This scholarship will be awarded to a resident of York County based on character, demonstrated leadership abilities, and dedication to agriculture or a related field.

Applications for this scholarship should be picked up and returned to York County Farm Bureau no later than June 14. Call 803-684-4235 for more information.

The Lake Wylie Pilot is pleased to provide this opportunity to share information, experiences and observations about what's in the news. Some of the comments may be reprinted elsewhere in the site or in the newspaper. We encourage lively, open debate on the issues of the day, and ask that you refrain from profanity, hate speech, personal comments and remarks that are off point. Thank you for taking the time to offer your thoughts.

Commenting FAQs | Terms of Service