4 Scouts earn Eagle Award

news@lakewyliepilot.comAugust 19, 2013 

— Four Scouts in Troop 333 earned the distinguished Eagle Scout Award upon nomination by the South Carolina York District Palmetto Council and the Boy Scouts of America.

This award is granted to Scouts who have distinguished themselves through service to God, country and other people by following the principles of the Scout oath and law. They also have met community service needs through voluntary actions.

“Troop 333 has graduated 55 Eagles since our organization was chartered in 1994,” said Scoutmaster Matt Boepple, “which is approximately three honored Eagles a year.”

Will Frost, 18, of Tega Cay cleared and constructed a half-mile walking trail along the main road in Tega Cay to provide safe passage for residents to points of interest without having to cross the street.

Braden Johnson, 17, of Lake Wylie built an outdoor classroom at Kinard Elementary School in Clover to provide a natural setting for learning. Among the oak trees on the activity field behind the school, he built an octagonal stage with bench seating on four sides, and he stained a compass rose onto the stage.

Dale Johnston, 18, of Clover completed his project Sept. 22 at Bethel Presbyterian Church Cemetery by clearing underbrush outside the cemetery wall where there were several unmarked graves. Bethel Presbyterian Church, along with a company using aerial sonar, worked to locate the graves of loved ones buried there.

Taylor Wilson, 17, of Clover redesigned and replaced a former butterfly garden at Kinard Elementary School. He removed two large trees, old plantings, weeds and obsolete landscape items and put in new plantings, mulch wooded border and a garden bridge. The garden was dedicated in memory of Myrna Kosko, a Scout leader and teacher who died before the garden was completed.

Together, these four Scouts have more than 28 years combined years in Scouting, spent 382 nights camping, hiked or canoed 458 miles, provided 817 hours of service and earned 108 merit badges.

In addition to earning the Eagle award, Johnson, Johnston and Wilson also received the Order of the Arrow Award, which is Scouting’s National Honor Society.

Troop 333 was formed in 1994 and chartered by River Hills Community Church. Meetings are held at 7:30 p.m. Tuesdays. For more information, call 704-654-1414 or email DCSD@comporium.net.

The Lake Wylie Pilot is pleased to provide this opportunity to share information, experiences and observations about what's in the news. Some of the comments may be reprinted elsewhere in the site or in the newspaper. We encourage lively, open debate on the issues of the day, and ask that you refrain from profanity, hate speech, personal comments and remarks that are off point. Thank you for taking the time to offer your thoughts.

Commenting FAQs | Terms of Service