Winners named in Clover Christmas parade poster contest

From staff reportsDecember 5, 2013 

— The Greater Clover Chamber of Commerce has named five school-level winners and one district-level winner in its annual Christmas parade poster contest for elementary school students.

The Clover school district winner is Katelyn Norris, a fourth-grader at Kinard Elementary School. Parade chairwoman Pam Mills and Jackie Robinson, director of the chamber, presented the award during a Kinard leadership assembly on Nov. 25.

Winners at all the other Clover schools are fifth-graders. The winners at each elementary school are:

• Bethany Elementary, Lilian Susens.

• Bethel Elementary, Catherine Justice.

• Crowders Creek Elementary, Kate Grohregin.

• Griggs Road Elementary, Jackie McClure.

• Larne Elementary, Ashley Burris.

The theme for this year’s parade, which was sponsored by the chamber, was “Have a Merry Local Christmas,” a nod to its effort to encourage families to buy local, shop local, eat local and invest local.

Each elementary school student winner receives a framed print award and a Walmart gift card. This year a district winner was selected and named the parade’s first junior grand marshal.

The Lake Wylie Pilot is pleased to provide this opportunity to share information, experiences and observations about what's in the news. Some of the comments may be reprinted elsewhere in the site or in the newspaper. We encourage lively, open debate on the issues of the day, and ask that you refrain from profanity, hate speech, personal comments and remarks that are off point. Thank you for taking the time to offer your thoughts.

Commenting FAQs | Terms of Service